United Missionary Primary Teachers’ Training Institute




The United Missionary Primary Teachers’ Training Institute (UMPTTI) is a Christian Religious Minority Institution in terms of Article 30 of the Constitution of India. The Institution, originally named as United Missionary Training College, was founded in 1910. It was established by the joint effort of the Baptist Missionary Society (BMS) and London Missionary Society (L.M.S.) now the Church of North India (CNI), with the support of the church of Scotland Mission. Later the American Baptist Mission, Methodist Mission and others were invited to participate in the Management of the Institution. The legal heirs of BMS and LMS pertaining to this institution are Bengal Baptist Union and Church of North India respectively. The BMS functions through the Bengal Baptist Union (BBU) in West Bengal.

The UMPTTI is recognized by the National Council of Teacher Education (N.C.T.E. ) VIDE Registration No. ERC/7-18/2001/1499(I) dt. 21/23.5.2001.

The Institute is also affiliated to the West Bengal Board of Primary Education.




The primary objective of the institute is training of suitable Christian girls with sense of vocation drawn from different denominations of the Christian Community so that after completion of the prescribed teachers’ training course and examination as conducted by the Government of West Bengal, the successful candidates may go out to serve the nation by imparting proper education. Suitable non-Christian students are also eligible for admission.